Dear HOR,
I am Giulia Spadaro, a Roman girl who has lived abroad most of her life, but the 4 years that I actually lived in Rome (2006-2010) I fell in love with the Eternal City. For my 18th birthday in 2012 I got to fly to Rome and spend the weekend there, but since then I haven’t been able to go back, and now, with my University in Southampton I have the chance to run the marathon in March (which happens to be a week after my 20th birthday, so it will have been 2+ years since my last visit to my beloved city). Running this marathon makes me very proud not only because I get to run a marathon in the most beautiful city in the world, but because I am doing it for a good cause, I am running it in the name of cancer research. The association that I am running for is AICR (Association for International Cancer Research), and its cause is close to my heart because my uncle died at the young age of 17 in Rome from a type of cancer that even now is one of the hardest to cure. He could have been a famous football player; he was supposed to play for AS Roma, but died before he got the chance, so I want to run this marathon, in the city where he died, in his honour, for him, and for every other person who suffers from cancer, may it be directly or indirectly but to make this happen I have to raise 995pounds. With this said, I was hoping that you could help me raise the money, simply sharing would mean the world as you have many followers that could help and are eager to make a difference in the world. I want to thank you for the time you took in reading this and I hope that I can count on you, if not then I’m sorry to hear. Thank you anyways and I leave you with my fundraising page.
http://www.justgiving.com/GiuSpaddersR
Cheers.

—————————————————————-
—————————————————————-

Caro HOR,
Mi chiamo Giulia Spadaro, e sono una ragazza Romana che ha vissuto all’estero la maggior parte della sua vita, ma i 4 anni che ho vissuto a Roma (2006-2010) mi sono innamorata della Città Eterna. Per il mio 18° compleanno nel 2012 ho avuto la fortuna di volare a Roma e di trascorrere il fine settimana lì, ma da allora non sono più riuscita a tornare, e ora con la mia Università a Southampton ho la possibilità di correre la maratona a Marzo (che risulta essere una settimana dopo il mio 20° compleanno, quindi sarà più di 2 anni dalla mia ultima visita alla mia amata città). Correre questa maratona mi rende molto orgogliosa, non solo perché riesco a correre una maratona nella città più bella del mondo, ma perché lo sto facendo per una buona causa, lo farò in nome della ricerca sul cancro. L’associazione che sono in esecuzione per è AICR (Associazione Internazionale per la Ricerca sul Cancro), e la sua causa mi è vicina al cuore perché mio zio è morto alla giovane età di 17 anni a Roma, di un tipo di cancro che ancora oggi è uno dei più difficili da curare. Avrebbe potuto essere un calciatore professionista, cominciando a giocare per la AS Roma, ma morì prima che suo sogno si potò realizzare, quindi vorrei avere la possibilità di correre questa maratona, nella città dove morì, in suo onore, per lui, e per ogni altra persona che soffre di cancro, direttamente o indirettamente, ma per rendere questo possibile devo alzare £995. Con ciò, speravo che mi potesse aiutare a raccogliere fondi, semplicemente condividendo la mia pagina significherebbe il mondo per me visto che lei ha molti “mi piace” che potrebbero aiutare questa buona causa. Voglio ringraziarti per il tempo che hai preso nella lettura di questo e spero che posso contare su di lei. Grazie comunque e vi lascio con la mia pagina di raccolta fondi.
http://www.justgiving.com/GiuSpaddersR
Un saluto.
Giulia

This is the official wordpress blog of Humans of Rome, an effort to create a photographic census of Rome, one street portrait at a time.

Tagged with: ,
Pubblicato su Humans of Rome

Rispondi

